Skip to main content - access key m.
Skip to main navigation - access key n.


James Coleman

ECSN 3.504
The University of Texas at Dallas
800 W. Campbell Rd.
Richardson, TX 75080, USA
Phone: 972-883-4381
Mailstop: EC33







 ee faculty

James J. Coleman

Erik Jonsson School of Engineering Distinguished Chair
Professor of Electrical Engineering


PhD in Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana, 1975
MS in Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana, 1973
BS in Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana, 1972


Professor James Coleman worked at Bell Laboratories and Rockwell International prior to returning as professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering to the University of Illinois, Urbana where he also held the Intel Alumni Endowed Chair. He and his students were first to define experimentally the ranges of wavelength, threshold current density, and reliability of 980 nm strained-layer InGaAs lasers. In 2013, he joined The University of Texas at Dallas. Coleman has published more than 425 papers in technical journals and 13 book chapters and holds 10 US patents.

Professor Coleman has held various leadership positions, including president, of the IEEE Photonics Society and received that Society's Distinguished Service Award.

Professor Coleman has been given the IEEE/OSA John Tyndall Award, the SPIE Technical Achievement Award, the IEEE David Sarnoff Award, the OSA Nick Holonyak, Jr. Award, the ISCS Heinrich Welker Award, and the IEEE Photonics Society William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award. He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the IEEE, OSA, SPIE, the American Physical Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Research Interests

Semiconductor Lasers, Strained Layer Lasers, Quantum Well Lasers, Quantum Dots, Nanostructures, Integrated Photonics, Epitaxial Growth, Selective Area Epitaxy, MOCVD